It’s Close to Midnight…

…and something evil’s lurking in the dark
Under the moonlight, you see a sight that almost stops your heart
You try to scream but terror takes the sound before you make it
You start to freeze as horror looks you right between the eyes
You’re paralyzed
‘Cause this is thriller, thriller night…”

Anyone close to me knows that this is my favorite month of the year.  I love the summer heat but October has so many good things to offer.  The leaves change color, the fresh and crisp air, the last little bit of warmth and most importantly, Halloween!  Why do I love it so much?  Well, it’s not the candy.  I DO love candy but you can buy that anytime.  Plus I hate that sugar-coma feeling I used to get when I would binge on the earnings in my trick-or-treating pillowcase as a kid.  Moms now usually only let kids have a few then the rest get stored and eaten over a long period of time.  But in the 80s, it was a lot more laid-back.  We devoured those non-peanut-free candies while skateboarding without helmets and listening to harmfully loud music on the good old cassette walkman.

I’m going to list my top ten favorite Halloween-related things, in no particular order.  I don’t care if you don’t share my love for this stuff.  Just be a good friend to me and pretend.

1.  The activities!  Horror movie nights, corn mazes, haunted houses, haunted hikes in the woods, pumpkin carvings, decorating, ghost tours… who doesn’t love to scare and be scared?  Ok… not everyone… but there’s something for everyone.  I went to “Ghostbusted” tonight, a dinner theatre production that was full of 80s songs and a lot of dancing … definitely fun for all ages.  Too bad tonight was their last night in Edmonton or I’d encourage everyone to see it.  Lucky for Calgarians the show will be there next!

2.  The fall season.  Best time for hearty food, my favorite fashion season, thanksgiving and  for my hockey fan friends the NHL season starts … well, not this year… not so far… sorry

3.  The movies.  SO many!  I want to re-watch The Shining, Ghostbusters, and Lost Boys… all tonight!  My favorite Halloween movie is an cartoon from the early 90s called The Halloween Tree.  It’s not scary at all but it tells some of the history of Halloween traditions around the world

4. The songs.  I remember the theme to Disney’s Halloween Treat… my brother and I would sing it over and over for days.  And I have an entire Halloween-themed playlist on my iTunes… doesn’t everyone?

5.  The element of fear.  It’s a strange addiction.  Usually I let myself get scared just enough for me to keep my side lamp on for the next few nights while I sleep.  It’s like the forbidden area in the old Jumbo Video stores.  No, not THAT forbidden area!  There was a horror movie section that was in the back with a Freddy statue and cobwebs… all the creepiness was in that dark little room.  Kids would always want to go in but then get too scared.  It’s the best because there’s really nothing to worry about but you can’t help covering your eyes.  Your heart beats faster and your blood is rushing even though there’s no real danger.  How can you not love that feeling?

6.  The costumes.  Any ideas?  I’m especially uncreative this year!  I love to see what people come up with but I often cave under the pressure of coming up with something original and interesting myself.  I do have an entire Rubbermaid bin of old costumes to choose from but that’s just not as fun.  I miss the days when my mom would sew my entire costume.  I was Jem, Rainbow Brite, a clown, a princess or whatever I wanted to be and she always made them incredibly detailed!  I had it so good back in the day…

7.  The little trick-or-treaters.  Adorable!

8.  Pumpkins

Smoky Lake, Alberta hosts an annual Pumpkinfest with the feature being the pumpkin drop.  They weigh all the largest pumpkins that the farmers bring in and the heaviest is lifted by a crane then dropped onto a car in a field.  It’s like a sporting event!  The crowd was even doing the wave.  And there’s so much more… giant fake pumpkins, a farmer’s market, rides and treats, a bus to shuttle you around…. it’s actually a lot of fun!

9.  Vampires and werewolves and hybrids…. oh my!  Another bandwagon that I’ve happily jumped on.  I’m an official Vampire Diaries-loving, Buffy-and-Blade-reminiscing, True Blood-obsessing, “Twihard” fan

10.  The dark side of it all.  More than just the fear- it’s the ghostly, creepy stuff that makes you think about those things that we don’t fully understand.  Maybe it’s all a product of our imaginations or maybe it’s something more.  I don’t really want to find out but it’s fun to wonder

Leave a Reply

